So the reason that I’ve called you all here…

The Boy and I just got back from vacations in Boston (partially work) and LA (all vacation) and I managed to spend all my money.  Ok, not ALL my money, but this is the poorest I’ve ever been in my adult life.  I’m not counting retirement or other investments because, as a rule, I don’t touch those.  But I have managed to dwindle my checking and savings accounts down to uncomfortably low levels not seen since grad school.  So I’m starting this blog to a) give me motivation to set and stick to financial goals, b) hold myself accountable by putting it out in the blogosphere, and c) maybe motivate someone else to get their financial life in check.  I also want to share how to live like a boss on the cheap because Fort Collins is the greatest place on earth and I’m not willing to give up having fun while saving up.

 

This should not cost a lot, but somehow it did.

 

Amazed at all my money flying away.

Amazed at all my money flying away.

 

Now that we’re back in the beauty of FoCo, here are my financial goals:

1. Pay off our new furnace by the end of 2014.

2. Build an emergency fund of 6 months of expenses.

3. Pay off my car loan.

4. Start contributing $250 a month to my Roth IRA, in addition to other savings and other retirement contributions.

5. Pay off our house early.

6. Save a travel fund so I can see the world.

 

I’ll give each of these their own posts so I can elaborate on why they are important to me.  I also plan on posting how I’m going to get there.  Things you can look forward to as you read about my experiences: how to indulge in hipster shit without spending (too much) money, enjoying beer culture for free or very inexpensively, learning about the kombucha brewing process, frugality and wellness challenges, the amazingness that is Fort Collins, pictures of me making dumb faces or doing dumb things, and some recipes and DIY ideas.  In the meantime, what do you want to see?

 

4 thoughts on “So the reason that I’ve called you all here…

  1. Courtney says:

    I could probably do #1, but the rest of your goals sound so hard! Looking forward to your financial advice and to your SCOBY!!

  2. We have a goal to be debt free (with the exception of our mortgage) by January. It will be hard. It will be annoying. But I think it can happen. (Especially with all my new Jamberry money).

Leave a Reply

