The Month of Financial Recovery and Wellness, part 3: Wellness Month

July is here!  The final part of my Month of Financial Recovery and Wellness is the wellness part.  Julia and I decided that a wellness month is in order to get us back on track so we are doing this together.  What is a “wellness month,” you might ask?  We envision it as a month to be more mindful about what we’re putting into our bodies and how we take care of ourselves for optimal physical and mental health.  Even though we’re doing this together to help keep each other accountable, we’re creating our own parameters since we have different diets and things that work for us.  I already do a lot of these things, but I have found it easy to justify a lot of indulgences lately, and it’s impacted my health.  I’m looking at you, cheese.  Delicious, delicious cheese…  Mmm…cheese…

Mmm

Now listen here…I’m not a doctor or nutritionist.  My master’s thesis was on factors that predict binge drinking, so you should only listen to me tell you why you’re binge drinking.  I have read a great deal about nutrition and health, and I know what works for me, what I think is garbage, and things I think are awesome that other people think are pseudoscience or, as my dad would say, “hippie-dippie bullshit.”  You do you, let me be me, and don’t sue me if you make yourself sick.  You’re welcome to give me money, though, if you make yourself rich and famous by eating chia seeds or something.

The Ground Rules

  • Cook at home and try to eat primarily whole foods while limiting processed foods.  Whole grains only.
  • Start each day with water, chia seeds, and lemon juice.  I have been doing this for over two years.  Chia seeds can hold around 10x their weight in water and I feel so much more hydrated.  They are also nutritional powerhouses, and have fiber, protein, and omega-3s.  The lemon juice helps flush the junk out of your system (science!) and tastes lemony (wordsmith!).
  • Drink green tea.  Coffee only in morning.  No energy drinks.
  • Eat lots of fruits and veggies.  LOTS.
  • Meat is ok 2-3 times a week.  I’m not a vegetarian, but I eat mostly vegetarian.  I have struggled with anemia from low iron levels, and even when I’m eating all the iron-rich veggies in the world and taking a supplement, my body feels better when I have meat occasionally.  I don’t think it’s healthy to eat meat for every meal, but all things are good in moderation.  Plus, burgers and bacon are the shit.
  • Limit added sugar and sodium.
  • 80 oz of water per day.
  • Seriously limit cheese.  NO WINE AND CHEESE NIGHTS.

night cheese

  • Floss every. damn. day.  This is so hard and I hate it but I love having teeth and not having heart problems.  bleh.
  • Oil pull every day with coconut oil.  I don’t necessarily think this is a cure-all, but it does work wonders for teeth whitening and gum health, when combined with brushing and flossing.
  • Dry bush before each shower.
  • Yoga 5 days a week.
  • Cardio 4+ times a week.
  • Acupuncture once a week.  I go to a community acupuncture place and it’s $20 a treatment.  BARGAIN.
  • Bike as much as possible (hey, No Spend July rule!)
  • Epsom salt bath once a week.  This is so good for helping tired or sore muscles, and you absorb the magnesium through your skin.
  • Daily supplements: vitamin D3, calcium, iron, fish oil, cinnamon, acidophilus
  • Alcohol only twice per week, two drink limit.  Since I live in Fort Collins, let’s be honest, there will be beer drinking, but it has antioxidants, right?  So does wine. Beer and wine are basically vegetables until you get drunk.

The TL,DR version: Don’t eat junk and get off your ass and move.  And then do some weird shit like squish coconut oil between your teeth for 20 minutes a day.

In financial news, I got paid today so I don’t feel so broke.  If I can just figure out how to keep it all in my bank account…

What do you do to stay well?  Is there anything you think I should be doing that I don’t have on the list?

6 thoughts on “The Month of Financial Recovery and Wellness, part 3: Wellness Month

  1. Tiffany P says:

    Loving all your posts! I’m going to have to try the chia seed, water, lemon combo. I hate drinking water, but I also hate getting kidney stones. That seems like a good trick!

    • I feel like I stay way more hydrated when I have chia in my water. You can put them in food too and they’ll hold the water from what you eat and drink. But be prepared to pee like 100 times a day when you start out.

  2. Rachel says:

    Love your wellness ideas! My wellness thing lately has been to eliminate artificial scents in various products. I’ve been making homemade perfume, deodorant, and household cleaner for the last year or so.

    • I have gotten rid of a lot of the artificial scents in our lives too. I started making essential oil sprays to use instead of perfume, and we started cleaning with baking soda and vinegar. I would love to hear about what you’ve been making!

Leave a Reply

