Peach Gazpacho

2014-07-14 21.08.55

I have been on a gazpacho kick lately.  I also prefer calling it gazpacho and not “cold soup,” which kind of grosses me out.  But “gazpacho” sounds fancy and delicious.  It’s a great way to use up our CSA veggies and other in-season produce, it’s super healthy, and is a great way to cool off after a hot day.  I made Peach Gazpacho last night, inspired by Martha, but utilizing what I had available.

I blended 4 whole peaches (with skin on because I’m lazy), a half a cucumber, some water (I never measure anything when it comes to soup…maybe like a cup?), a shallot (bulb and greens), two cloves of garlic, around 2 tbsp. of lemon flavored extra virgin olive oil, a dash of salt, and some fresh basil.  I garnished it with some plain nonfat Greek yogurt, sriracha, roasted pumpkin seeds (shelled), and more basil.  It made about 4 servings.

The basil, shallot, and cucumber mellowed out the sweetness of the peaches and the garlic gave it some punch.  Best of all, I didn’t have to go out of my way to buy anything because I had all of this stuff in the kitchen.  Chances are you are not a weirdo with lemon olive oil and roasted pumpkin seeds laying around, so regular EVOO would work, and you could garnish with avocado or any nuts or seeds for some crunch.

Leave a Reply

