No Spend July Recap

Now that we’re well into August, I thought I would discuss No Spend July.  I feel like I failed while I simultaneously succeeded.  It makes no sense.

On the win side, I paid off my furnace and I got my emergency fund back up to $1000, which was my first emergency fund milestone. First step, $1000. Next step, three months of expenses. Then, a fully funded emergency fund of at least six months of expenses (that feels like a decade away).  I pretty much stuck to no unnecessary shopping, minus a few slips when I bought a record and kombucha out of pure frustration with my feeling of failure, and I bought two yoga tops because they were both 50% off (not an excuse).

On the fail side, I picked the month when I had told just about everyone in Fort Collins that I would grab lunch, dinner, or a beer with them.  So then I kind of gave up on all things food or drink related.

I have stuck to not buying a parking permit and finding other ways to get myself to work, so that’s pretty awesome.  But then my super yoga muscle hip of death and destruction hit my bike wheel while I was STANDING IN THE YARD and somehow tripped, followed by a wet grass slip, and now my bicycle is waiting at Cranknstein for a new wheel.

I feel like I failed, even though I met my goals.  I didn’t meet the goal of not spending money, though, which was the whole point.  I will pick a better month and try it again before the end of the year.  September could be a good month to try again because we will be saving up for a Vegas trip with my parents.  We go to all the hottest clubs.

By hottest clubs, I clearly mean Hoover Dam.

I will conquer this damn challenge before the end of 2014 and have an actual win.  Not just a somehow I managed to save money while not succeeding at my challenge at all semi-win.

Leave a Reply

