Lifestyle Creep

I’ve totally been doing The Creep…the Lifestyle Creep.  A little over a year ago, I was making about a third less than what I currently make.  And somehow I am saving WAY LESS than I did while at my previous job.  Yes, we bought a house and took on higher bills and a little more going to the mortgage than rent at our previous place.  But where is the rest of it going?!  I will tell you, my friends.  It’s going to me being an idiot about spending.

It’s so easy to find an excuse to reward yourself when you’ve gotten a raise or when you feel like you work really hard.  Trying not to spend on non-necessities has shown me that I have a SERIOUS lifestyle creep problem.  Instead of aiming to go out for a beer, now we’ll go out for a beer and dinner.  I also used to primarily eat out for breakfast, and that has turned into dinner.  That’s dumb because I LOVE BREAKFAST.  I don’t even want to eat dinner (that’s a lie…I love all food all the time), but given the option, I pick breakfast any day.  And you know what the best part about going out for breakfast is?  It’s way less expensive than dinner.  We also used to have people over for brunch or game nights.  Now that Andy is working nights, that doesn’t happen and we end up meeting people out at restaurants or bars.  And since when do I stop at Whole Foods more than once a month, let alone 3 times a week?  Oh, since I started taking the bus that leaves from the Whole Foods parking lot.  I don’t need coffee.  I have coffee at home.  I don’t need kombucha.  I have kombucha at home and it’s expensive.  I also don’t need a $4 breakfast burrito that isn’t really that good anyway.

WHY CAN’T I STAY AWAY?!?

Check out this article from LearnVest about lifestyle creep.

So I’m going to combat it.  I’m going to go back to doing what I do best: hosting people and eating breakfast.  Meaning, I’m putting an end to the lifestyle creep.  The higher bills aren’t avoidable, but I can cut other places.  I started by canceling my Audible membership before they could get me one more time for this month.  I even resisted the $20 coupon they offered me to stay.  Look at that willpower…

Have you experienced lifestyle creep?  What’d you do about it?  Or did you just keep Doing the Creep?

 

One thought on “Lifestyle Creep

Leave a Reply

