The Purge Continues (Endlessly)

Somehow I am STILL purging unwanted items from our house, but now I am managing to make some pretty good money off of it.  I switched up my selling game from strictly Craigslist and local Facebook buy/sell/trade groups, with a fall-back plan of consignment, and tried my hand at eBay.  Let me just say that I am still very much an eBay novice, but I have sold things for way more than I could have gotten from any of the other ways I’ve tried.

I probably would have gotten maybe 10 bucks for these boots at Plato’s Closet or around $20 or so selling on Craigslist or Facebook.

2014-09-14 20.01.31

 

But I sold them on eBay for $60!!!!!!!!  That’s double what I paid when I bought them new.  Turns out that Naughty Monkey leather boots are not in high demand in FoCo, but are everywhere else.

My other big eBay win is selling this Carhartt vest.  2014-12-09 17.18.03 CGCHWV001_-00_carhartt-brown_front_Womens-Carhartt-Sandstone-Mock-Neck-Vest-Sherpa-Lined_23

I bought this in Steamboat for around $20 about 7 years ago because I guess I felt like I needed some workwear???  Who knows…  I wore it approximately twice for things like riding in a car and sitting in a chair (hard work).  I went straight to eBay with this when I noticed it still hanging in the closet (not sure how it survived so many purges).  While my favorite discount gear store had it for sale in pink and purple for $37.50, the MSRP is $79.99, and Carhartt Brown is almost impossible to come by in women’s vests…except on eBay.  In under a day, I sold it for $60.

I am certainly not just selling things like crazy on eBay.  It all comes down to pictures, keywords, and timing.  It took me two listings to sell a silk J. Crew dress that I wore to my first black tie optional event while working for CSU Events, and I think I ended up selling it for $15 (half of what I paid, so I got my money’s worth).  I am also trying to unload a pair of Steve Madden boots and a couple of Moosejaw jackets, but I haven’t had any bites yet.  I’ve gotten some views, though, so I think I need to take some better pictures.

However, I can’t sell everything on eBay and I lucked out yesterday by leaving a post up in the Fort Collins Trade Swap  group on Facebook.  (Pro-tip: if you are looking to sell things in Fort Collins, this is the place to do it because the 6700 members all get real-time notifications of what’s for sale in their newsfeed).  I have been trying to sell this gem of a bike since this summer:

2014-08-08 13.18.54

This picture does not do the ridiculousness justice…it has huge rearview mirrors, a giant bell, the back tire is super fat, and the seat has a velvet checkerboard pattern.

Lo and behold, my Christmas present came early and a guy found the post from August, offered me $150, and gave me the money before he ever looked at the bike.  It was somehow exactly what he had been looking for all over Northern Colorado.  Goodbye, chopper bike!  I told the boy that we are now a 6-bicycle household, and then it felt like all the purging progress went out the window.

Moral of the story: when you’re selling things you no longer want, figure out where you’re going to get the best deal.  If it’s a brand name and easily shippable, try eBay.  You don’t pay anything until you sell, the listing fees are reasonable, and it’s SO EASY.  You’ll get way more money than if you consign it or take it to a place that buys on the spot.  Definitely read up on selling tips to make sure you’re reaching potential buyers.  If you can’t easily ship it, check out a local facebook buy and sell group.  The Fort Collins group is very active and everything shows up in the newsfeeds of your potential buyers.

When you’ve made some extra cash, sock most of it away in your emergency fund or put it toward paying off a debt, and use some to have a little fun.  I hear there is a new trampoline park that is awesome and on Tuesdays, 2 can jump for the price of 1.  I haven’t been there yet, but it sounds ridiculously fun (and like a broken spine waiting to happen).

Leave a Reply

