An experiment in upping my savings

I just signed up for digit, which is supposed to analyze your spending habits and then automatically move money that you won’t miss into a separate account to help maximize your savings.  It’s FDIC insured and if they screw up and for some reason it causes an overdraft, they will cover all of those expenses.  It is also a completely free service (they take the interest that your digit savings is earning and use it to pay themselves–supposedly interest on savings may be coming soon!)  I love a good excuse to save money, so I’m trying it.  I’ll keep you posted on my savings and how it’s working as I go along.

If you want to play along, click the above link.  I’ll get 5 bucks if you sign up and you’ll get my unending love and save some $$$ you didn’t know you could save.

Here’s what my dashboard currently looks like.  The first transfer should happen in 2-3 days.

Screenshot 2015-02-11 10.27.55

They support 2500 banks/credit unions so there’s a reasonable chance your financial institution will be supported.

Are you in?  What would you use your additional savings for?  I’m considering this an extension of Change Jar and I’ll probably put whatever I save towards a trip or paying off something early.  Let me know what you’d save for in the comments–I need inspiration!

One thought on “An experiment in upping my savings

Leave a Reply

