Roasted Roma Tomatoes

I wrote this post last fall and for some reason never posted it.  Here you go:

In order to maximize our CSA share, I bought 30 lbs. box of roma tomatoes.  What does one do with 30 lbs. of roma tomatoes?

I suppose this was an option:

 

Instead, I opted for roasting them.  I think I made a wise decision.

This is in a box that holds a case of beer bottles. THAT'S A LOT OF TOMATOES.

This is in a box that holds a case of beer bottles. THAT’S A LOT OF TOMATOES.

By buying in bulk, I saved on the normal cost of tomatoes, plus these are locally grown and so flavorful and delicious.

I halved all the tomatoes and laid them out on cookie sheets covered with parchment.  The parchment prevented the tomatoes sticking to the pan and allowed me to use the pan multiple times in a row.  I drizzled them with some extra virgin olive oil and roasted them for 40 minutes at 375° and then increased the temperature to 400° for the last 20 minutes.

Roasting

Roasting

I had multiple batches so I seasoned them each differently.  I sprinkled some with red pepper flakes, some with oregano and basil, some with rosemary (the rosemary tomatoes were my favorite), some with 21 Seasoning Salute from Trader Joe’s, and left some unseasoned.

After they cooled, I put them into quart sized freezer bags, marked them with the date and the type of seasoning, and stacked them in the freezer.

These tomatoes were absolutely one of the best things I’ve ever made.  I didn’t use canned tomatoes or marinara sauce until they were gone.  I used up 30 lbs of tomatoes in probably less than two months–that’s how spectacularly good they were.  This fall I’m going to do at least 60 lbs. because I want my freezer to have these FOREVER.  I don’t think you’d get the same flavor using store bought tomatoes because fresh-from-the-farm tomatoes are so flavorful, but roasting helps bring out the flavors and caramelizes them slightly so that they are unreal delicious so it’s worth a shot if you can’t get your hands on farm-fresh tomatoes.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Roma Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

